DJ Shadow Recruits Nas, Raekwon, De La Soul & More For 'Our Pathetic Age' Double Album

Posted by

DJ Shadow has returned with Our Pathetic Era, his follow-up to 2016’s full-length effort The Mountain Will Fall. 

Packed with 26 tracks, the project features a roster of notable guests, including Nas, Raekwon, Ghostface Killah, Run The Jewels, De La Soul and Pharoahe Monch.

div {
line-height: 0;
position: relative;
margin-bottom: 16px;

#div-gpt-ad-body1 >div>iframe {
margin-bottom: 240px;
position: absolute;

margin-top: 16px;

.article-advertisement.article-body.article-news p {
margin-top: 0;

In September, the formidable producer/turntablist explained the concept of the album in an Instagram post.

“Despite the title, ‘Our Pathetic Age’ is a hopeful, vibrant album,” he captioned the video clip. “As an artist, I feel an obligation to interpret the world around me, and there’s no denying that these are times fraught with angst and pain. Yet, always there is light in darkness, and that’s the energy I have sought to harness.”

Our Pathetic Era arrives via Mass Appeal Records. It marks the sixth entry in Shadow’s discography, which began in 1996 with the critically acclaimed Endtroducing… project.

Check out the album stream, cover art and tracklist below.

  1. Nature Always Wins
  2. Slingblade
  3. Intersectionality
  4. Beauty, Power, Motion, Life, Work, Chaos, Law
  5. Juggernaut
  6. Firestorm
  7. Weightless
  8. Rosie
  9. If I Died Today
  10. My Lonely Room
  11. We Are Always Alone
  12. Drone Warfare f. Nas & Pharoahe Monch
  13. Rain Or Snow f. Inspectah Deck, Ghostface Killah & Raekwon
  14. Rocket Fuel f. De La Soul
  15. C.O.N.F.O.R.M. f. Gift of Gab, Lateef The Truthspeaker & Infamous Taz
  16. Small Colleges (Stay With Me) f. Wiki & Paul Banks
  17. JoJo’s World f. Stro
  18. Kings & Queens f. Run The Jewels
  19. Taxin’ f. Dave East
  20. Dark Side of The Heart f. Fantastic Negrito & Jumbo Is Drama
  21. I Am Not A Robot (Interlude)
  22. Urgent, Important, Please Read f. Rockwell Knuckles, Tef Poe & Daemon
  23. Our Pathetic Age f. Samuel T. Herring
  24. Been Use Ta f. Pusha T
  25. Taxin’ f. Dave East (Long Version)
  26. Two Notes f. Barny Fletcher

Source: Hip Hop DX