Aesop Rock Announces New Music From 'Freedom Finger' Video Game Soundtrack

Posted by

Rhymesayers Entertainment has announced new music from Aesop Rock is on the way. The Minneapolis-based imprint made the reveal via Instagram on Tuesday (March 24).

According to the post, the famously cryptic MC has crafted three fresh tracks called “Play Dead,” “Kowp” and “Drums On The Wheel,” which are featured in the Freedom Finger video game.

div {
line-height: 0;
position: relative;
margin-bottom: 16px;

#div-gpt-ad-body1 >div>iframe {
margin-bottom: 240px;
position: absolute;

margin-top: 16px;

.article-advertisement.article-body.article-news p {
margin-top: 0;

The upcoming release will also feature instrumental versions of the songs along with four bonus beats — “Rat Skull,” “Snowmobile,” “Twice Fried” and “Frozen Caveman.” Vinyl copies are available as well.

“3 new songs + 3 instrumentals and 4 bonus beats! 10″ Molten Orange Colored Cloud Effect Vinyl,” the caption explains. “All original music made for the game ‘Freedom Finger’ by @widerightgames. The game is available TODAY on Playstation 4, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, and Steam! The music will be available on all digital/streaming platforms beginning April 7, along with a limited 10″ vinyl that will be available for pre-order.”

Aesop hasn’t released a full-length studio album since 2017’s The Impossible Kid. Last year, he partnered up with Black Moth Super Rainbow musician TOBACCO for the Malibu Ken project. More recently, the elusive artist dropped a video for a single titled “Rogue Wave,” which arrived in January.

As mentioned in the caption, the new music is expected to hit streaming services on April 7. Aesop penned a note about the three-track effort on Instagram as well, providing another taste in the process.

Aesop Rock Makes Triumphant Return With New ‘Rogue Wave’ Video

“Freedom Finger is coming to Playstation 4 and Xbox One on March 24th! Featuring new levels and original music by Aesop Rock,” he wrote. “Switch and Steam owners can check out the new content on the Rhymesayers Update, a free update that releases the same day!⁣

“I have 3 new songs on this bad boy, in addition to the beats I had originally supplied. You can hear one previewed in this trailer. It’s called “Play Dead.” Go get this game and shoot shit up as soon as possible. Thank you.”

Press play below.

Source: Hip Hop DX