Raphael Saadiq Announces New Album Featuring A Kendrick Lamar Collab

Posted by

Los Angeles, CA – The details regarding a new solo album from R&B savant Raphael Saadiq is close to being over, Pitchfork has learned.

An initial cryptic album announcement for the impending body of work came on May 21 when Saadiq uploaded a video to his Instagram account with the caption, “The 8 year wait is almost Over ! #Glorytotheveins #jimmylee #Repostthis.”

div {
line-height: 0;
position: relative;
margin-bottom: 16px;

#div-gpt-ad-body1 >div>iframe {
margin-bottom: 240px;
position: absolute;

margin-top: 16px;

.article-advertisement.article-body.article-news p {
margin-top: 0;

The album, Jimmy Lee, will be release on August 23 via Columbia Records and include features from Kendrick LamarAli Shaheed Muhammad of A Tribe Called Quest) and Brook D’Leau.

This is the storied singer-songwriter’s first solo endeavor since releasing his album, Stone Rollin’, in 2011.

Saadiq first gained notoriety within his platinum-selling group Tony! Toni! Toné! in the late ’80s. Prior to Saadiq’s departure from the group, the trio’s songs, “Feels Good,” “If I Had No Loot” and “Anniversary” all cracked Billboard’s Top 10 back in the early-1990s.

His solo career blossomed after his work on the Boyz n the Hood and Higher Learning soundtracks. He was also a protégé for fellow Oakland singer, Adrian Marcel.

The Grammy Award winner recently announced the album’s first single, “Something Keeps Calling” and the adjoining six-city U.S. tour on Friday (June 7).

Check out the track list for Jimmy Lee and first single below.

[embedded content]

01 Sinners Prayer
02 So Ready
03 This World Is Drunk
04 Something Keeps Calling
05 Kings Fall
06 I’m Feeling Love
07 My Walk
08 Belongs to God
09 Dottie’s Interlude
10 Glory to the Veins
11 Rikers Island
12 Rikers Island Redux
13 Rearview

Source: Hip Hop DX