New Music Friday – Joey Bada$$, KYLE, Sheff G, J.I & More Drop New Releases

Posted by

Midway into July, the third New Music Friday of the month features a heavy dose of New York rap.

Leading the way is Joey Bada$$, who returns with his first solo effort since 2017. Also representing NYC are Sheff G and J.I The Prince Of N.Y, who both have new EPs.

div {
line-height: 0;
position: relative;
margin-bottom: 16px;

#div-gpt-ad-body1 >div>iframe {
margin-bottom: 240px;
position: absolute;

margin-top: 16px;

.article-advertisement.article-body.article-news p {
margin-top: 0;

Beyond the East Coast, KYLE comes through with his sophomore album while Blu & Exile resurface with their first studio LP since 2012’s Give Me My Flowers While I Can Still Smell Them. Additionally, Jhené Aiko delivers a deluxe edition of her Chilombo project.

Check out all of this week’s notable Hip Hop and R&B releases below.

Joey Bada$$ – The Light Pack

Three years after releasing ALL-AMERIKKKAN BADA$$, Joey Bada$$ is back with a three-song bundle titled The Light Pack. Don’t call it an EP though because the Pro Era rapper says he hates that.

KYLE – See You When I Am Famous!!!!!!!!!!!!

Following some ventures into the world of acting, KYLE switches his focus back to music with his sophomore album See You When I Am Famous!!!!!!!!!!!! The 12-track LP features collaborations with Rico Nasty, Tyga, Rich The Kid, Bryson Tiller and Raphael Saadiq, among others.

Sheff G – Just 4 Y’all

Brooklyn drill rap sadly lost a rising star in Pop Smoke, but one of its foremost artists — Sheff G — is still repping the scene. Just a few months after dropping the One & Only mixtape, Sheff unleashes an EP titled Just 4 Y’all to keep fans satisfied.

Blu & Exile – Miles

Blu & Exile have finally reemerged with another album, reconnecting for the Miles LP. Although the two gave listeners the In The Beginning: Before the Heavens compilation and True & Livin EP, the new 20-track project is their first full-length studio effort in eight years.

Joey Bada$$ Plans To Exterminate Mumble Rap With New Project

J.I The Prince Of N.Y – Welcome to GStarr Vol. 1

J.I The Prince Of N.Y inked a deal with Interscope Records in late 2019, paving the way for bigger and better things. For his major label debut, the up-and-coming artist introduces himself to a wider audience with his Welcome to GStarr Vol. 1 EP.

Jhené Aiko – Chilombo (Deluxe)

The deluxe edition trend isn’t limited to Hip Hop as R&B star Jhené Aiko has joined in the craze too. The Def Jam singer adds nine tracks to March’s Chilombo album, which is the highest-charting LP of her career.

Oddisee – Odd Cure

It’s been three years since Oddisee released The Iceberg LP, which garnered lots of critical acclaim — like most of his work. For his follow-up, the veteran MC/producer has dropped an EP called Odd Cure and describes it as “a record I didn’t want to write but needed to.”

Icewear Vezzo – Robbin Season 2

Detroit’s Icewear Vezzo picks up where 2019’s Robbin Season mixtape left off with a 16-track sequel. The project features collaborations with G Herbo, Rio Da Yung OG, Doughboy Clay and more.

600Breezy – Iceman Edition Pt. 2

600Breezy invokes the legacy of George Gervin once again with his new project Iceman Edition Pt. 2. The Chicago-bred rapper has more on the way, promising to put out Pt. 3 in 30 days.

StaySolidRocky – Fallin

StaySolidRocky has released his debut EP Fallin on Columbia Records. The San Antonio native’s seven-track set includes a collaboration with Lil Uzi Vert.

Source: Hip Hop DX