Nightmares On Wax Drops 'Aquaself' Bonus Track From 25th Anniversary Reissue Of 'Smoker's Delight'

Posted by

British DJ/producer George Evelyn — better known as Nightmares On Wax — has shared a new bonus track from the 25th anniversary reissue of Smoker’s Delight titled “Aquaself.”

Originally released in 1995, the project saw a shift in Evelyn’s style from his debut 1991’s A Word of Science: The First and Final Chapter into a blend of soul, Hip Hop, dub and club sounds.

div {
line-height: 0;
position: relative;
margin-bottom: 16px;

#div-gpt-ad-body1 >div>iframe {
margin-bottom: 240px;
position: absolute;

margin-top: 16px;

.article-advertisement.article-body.article-news p {
margin-top: 0;

Recorded with longtime collaborators Hamlet Luton (bass), Chris Dawkins (guitar), Robin Taylor-Firth (keys) and Shovell (percussion),  Smoker’s Delight offered 16 tracks of intoxicating trip-hop and really established his signature sound.

With the reissue, fans of Nightmares On Wax get to enjoy the previously unreleased tracks “Let’s Ascend” and “Aquaself,” which are included as “Sonic Buds” bonus tracks, alongside an alternative funk mix of “Dreddoverboard” and the timeless “Nights Introlude” recorded live at Concord Music Hall in Chicago six years ago.

The 2xLP edition of Smoker’s Delight features red and green vinyl discs, a silver gatefold mirror board sleeve, exclusive roach material sheet insert, sleeve notes and a download code for the album and bonus tracks.

The reissue is expected to arrive on April 3. Pre-orders are available here. In the meantime, check out “Aquaself” up top and the tracklist below.

1. Nights Introlude
2. Dreddoverboard
3. Pipes Honour
4. Me + You
5. Stars
6. Wait a Minute/Praying for a Jeepbeat
7. Groove St.
8. Time (To Listen)
9. (Man) Tha Journey
10. Bless My Soul
11. Cruise (Don’t Stop)
12. Mission Venice
13. What I’m Feelin (Good)
14. Rise
15. Rise (Reprise)
16. Gambia Via Vagator Beach

“Sonic Buds” Bonus Tracks
1. Aquaself
2. Let’s Ascend
3. Dreddoverboard (Funk Mix)
4. Nights Introlude (Live In Chicago)

Source: Hip Hop DX