Genius Releases Debut Album "A '98 Story"

Posted by

After a heap of anticipation fueled by a few buzzworthy leaks, ATL’s own Genius dropped his debut album, A ’98 Story, on Friday (January 12). As Rare Sound’s official DJ, he’s been steadily building his name with well-received collaborative projects like 2016’s A East Side Story and last year’s A Come Up Story.

His inaugural solo album — a reference to his 1998 immigration from Jamaica to Atlanta — aims to officially put his name on the map. The project features artists like Kap G, Hoodrich Pablo Juan, Eearz, Money Man, Sy Ari Da Kid, Ray Jr. and more.

Two years in the making, the 15-song project also features the track “One Year Later” with K Camp and Sonny Digital, which was released last year.

Production-wise, things are mostly held down by in-house Rare Sound producers Bobby Kritical and Musik Majors with a little help from names like DJ Plugg and JV.

Check out the album stream, cover art, and tracklist for A ’98 Story below.

1. Intro
2. Back In The Building f. Kano (Prod. Beat Attikz)
3. Lately f. Felipe (Prod. Hybridz)
4. I Need Space f. K Camp & Eearz (Prod. Bobby Kritical & Bino)
5. Blunt After Blunt f. Coca Vango & Kyyng (Prod. Flair Fifth)
6. One Year Later f. K Camp & Sonny Digital (Prod. TEAUXNY)
7. No Limit Soldier/No Regrets f. Bernard Jabs & Kano (Prod. Supa Noche)
8. Don’t Flex f. K Major & True Story Gee (Prod. Dunn Deezy)
9. Figure It Out f. K Camp (Prod. Musik MajorX)
10. Pain f. Sy Ari Da Kid & Chris Plenty (Prod. Aaron Mac & Gustavo)
11. Free All My N*ggas f. Ray Jr. & Matt Steez (Prod. Dun Deezy)
12. Make It Look East f. Mike Fresh (Prod. JV)
13. Break Dance f. Kap G & Money Makin Nique (Prod. Bobby Kritical & DJ Plugg)
14. I Know What To Do (Remix) f. Hoodrich Pablo Juan & Hardo (Prod. Musik MajorX)
15. Make It Work (Remix) f. Money Man & Felipe (Prod. TL)

Source: Hip Hop DX